2012-05-02 / Front Page

Early voting starts in two weeks


Early voting for the May 29 Democratic and Republican primaries will start May 14 and will end five days before election day, which is May 29.

Jaime Serna, elections administrator for Willacy County said voters will be able to cast early ballots from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday at the library annex.

The polls will open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day.

Serna said all voting precincts will remain the same except polling place number 8, which will be combined with polling place number 2.

A total of 24 candidates are running for office in Willacy County and 11 others are running for U.S. District 34, which includes this South Texas county.

County and district attorney Bernard Ammerman is running unopposed.

Sheriff Larry G. Spence, the incumbent, is being challenged by Andres “Andy” Maldonado and David Martinez. Also running for the same office is Jose Antonio “Joe” Salazar, the only local candidate running as a Republican.

Willacy County Precinct 1 Commissioner Eliberto “Beto” Guerra is being challenged by Roy Hernandez, while Precinct 3 Commissioner Fred Serrato is facing Emilio Jr. Vera.

Running for constables in Precinct 2 are Terry D. White and Hector Gabriel Tijerina, while Ben Vera is running for constable in Precinct 3 and Mario A. Salazar is seeking reelection as constable in Precinct 5.

In Precinct 4, David Garcia, the incumbent, is facing Eulario “ Larry” Mendez III, Carlos Martinez, Jose Alberto Garza and Alex Martinez, while Alberto Oviedo Jr. is facing Martin Nieto, David Santana and Alberto Oviedo Jr. for constable in Precinct 1.

E.F. “ Lefty” Cavazos is running for chairman of the county Democratic Party. Bonnie Brown is running as chair for the Republican Party.

In the U.S. Congressional District 34 it’s an all-against all race contested by eight Democrats and three Republicans.

The Democrats are: Denise Saenz Blanchard, Anthony P . Troiani, Armando Villalobos, Filemon Vela and Elmo M. Aycock, all from Brownsville; Solomon Torres, of San Benito; Ramiro Garza, of South Padre Island, and Juan Angel Guerra, of Sebastian.

Running as Republicans are Adela Garza, of Olmito, Paul B. Haring, of Goliad. and Jessica Puente Bradshaw of Brownsville.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2012-05-02 digital edition